1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in my forum

Receiving the R. Brinkley Smithers Award from the Christopher D. Smithers Foundation at the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence and its New York City Affiliate, the Alcoholism Council of New York annual Spring Awards Luncheon were legendary musicians Eric Clapton and Judy Collins, along with Dr. Sheila Blume, a pioneer in addiction medicine.

Having experienced alcoholism from the inside out, these two legendary musicians have committed significant time and resources to help others recover, and Dr. Sheila Blume has helped shape present knowledge, clinical practice and public policies related to addiction, according to a NCAAD news release.

The news release said:

One of the world's preeminent Blues/Rock guitarists, Eric Clapton's musical career spans five decades and he has earned numerous accolades and awards for his music. During recent years, he has been devoted to the Crossroads Centre in Antigua, an international treatment center he established for alcohol and drug dependency treatment.

Known throughout the world for her unique blend of interpretive folksongs and contemporary themes, Judy Collins has been in recovery for many years and continues to create music of hope and healing that lights up the world and speaks to the heart.

Dr. Sheila Blume has been a leader in the field of alcoholism and other drug addictions for over thirty years and has devoted her career to persuading the public, policy makers and the medical establishment that alcoholism is a disease.

The R. Brinkley Smithers Award is presented annually by the Christopher D. Smithers Foundation as a permanent memorial to its founder, R. Brinkley Smithers. It recognizes individuals who have publicly shared the message of hope and the promise of help, and individuals whose work in the field of alcoholism has had a positive impact in the fight against America's most misunderstood disease.

Additionally, Master of Ceremonies Scott Clark, Sports Director and Sports Anchor at WABC-TV, received the Adele C. Smithers-Fornaci Award. This award is given to an individual for dedication to raising public awareness of alcoholism by courageously speaking out and carrying the message of help, hope and recovery. Scott Clark is a Vice President on the Board of Directors of the Alcoholism Council of New York.

No comments yet. Leave a Comment
Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.