'Per Se' BAC Level: .08
Implied Consent Law: Yes
License Suspension 1st Offense: 60 days
License Suspension 2nd Offense: 60 days
License Suspension 3rd Offense: 90 days
Mandatory Jail Time after 2nd offense: Yes
Possible Vehicle Confiscation: After 4th offense
Hardship License while license suspended: After 10 days
Open Container Law: For driver and passenger
These are highlights of the main provisions of North Carolina law pertaining to drunk driving. Other factors can increase the penalties for drunk driving, such as if an injury or death occurred, or if a child was endangered.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving in North Carolina, contact an attorney in your area to determine you rights and responsibilities.
Source: NCGS section 20-138.1